SEOPressor Review & Conclusions

I’ve been using SEOPressor for several months now, since just after it was released, and I thought it was about time for me to do a proper SEOPressor review.

To start with, I’ll go over what SEOPressor does, and then we’ll get to what I think of it.

If you’re really impatient and want to get started on your own, you can get SEOPressor here.

SEOPressor Features

SEOPressor ScoreAt the heart of SEOPressor is the SEOPressor Scoreboard, which you’ll see as a widget in your Add New Post page in WordPress. When you start a new post or page, the scoreboard looks like the image on the right. At this point I haven’t yet told the plugin what keyword we’re trying to optimize around, so it can’t compute any sort of score.

SEOPressor At WorkAs I start building the post, and enter in a keyword to target, you’ll see the Score panel changes.

I just went ahead and did that, for this post, and Saved the Draft in order for the plugin to re-calculate, and you can see that basically as of this paragraph, the plugin is giving me a rating of 54.44% for the keyword SEOPressor. That number is in green, because it’s over 50% (a good thing). You’ll also see that the Keyword Density is calculated for you, and in this case, I’m way high, at 6.77%. That tells me immediately I need to add some extra text to thin things out!

Below that, SEOPressor has a very cool checklist of various items it has either confirmed you’re ok on, or is flagging that you need to address.

Is SEOPressor Magic?

The real power in this SEO plugin for WordPress isn’t anything magic; it is simply that it gives you a visual way to see how well you’re doing the SEO fundamentals. People (well, me especially, but people in general) love scores, stats and figures – even more so when they change in front of their very eyes in response to a small change.

Get SEOPressor Here

So how cool is it when you can go back and make a subtitle an H3 and gain 5% in your SEO score? We’re talking simple changes here, but simple changes that make a real, measurable impact.

In addition to forcing the user to make changes, SEOPressor adds a couple subtle touches of it’s own – things like bolding, italicizing, or underlining one of your keywords. These are minor changes of course, but they can have an impact. You can also setup the plugin to add alternate tags to your post images automatically, which can be quite helpful in some situations.

My Results With SEOPressor

I’ll admit it right off the top here, I’m as close to addicted to WordPress plugins as you can get. I’m always snapping up the latest plugin, because I know how simple they make things for me. That being said, if the plugin doesn’t provide some sort of sustainable value, then I usually toss it and move along.

SEOPressor proved itself within the first couple weeks of use, for me. Although I’m not going to give you specific sites or keywords, I will tell you that within 2 weeks of using SEOPressor to optimize some existing posts on one of my sites, I saw several of those break through onto the first page. We’re talking very minor, non-competitive terms here, but this represents progress nonetheless, and required NOTHING other than a few minutes with SEOPressor to get these results.

I’ve since gone back to nearly all of my sites and installed SEOPressor, because I do see the value in using it – everywhere. I also have replicated these results with FAR more competitive terms, however in those instances much more than just good on-page SEO was required.

Nevertheless, with SEOPressor showing you a high score (I typically aim for 60% to 80% on most posts, 80% and up if I’m REALLY trying to nail something) you’re fairly well guaranteed that your on-page SEO is as good as you’re going to get it within reason.

Get SEOPressor Here

My SEOPressor Compaints

SEOPressor is truly great at evaluating the post content… however that’s where it ends. In my humble opinion, the plugin could be made that much better if they would make it look at the following additional factors:

  • Meta description
  • Meta keyword tags
  • Post title

These are not currently considered by SEOPressor. Take the post title for instance. Nearly every WP theme gives the post title an H2 tag, therefore if your post title includes your keyword (and it SHOULD!) then you’ve already got an H2 keyword on your page… just not within the body.

Additionally, meta data is still important for SEO – even if it no longer carries quite the importance that it used to, and even then, not all search engines treat that data the same way, so there’s no excuse for ignoring it. I guess the issue here is widespread use of third-party SEO plugins, and having to look in a lot of different fields to find that data, rather than just in the post content, however that’s my opinion and I’m sticking to it.

SEOPressor Conclusion

All told, SEOPressor is one of the very few premium WordPress plugins I wholeheartedly recommend to anyone interested in improving their search engine rankings. It takes a mostly-misunderstood subject and applies good practices in an extremely easy to use and intuitive manner. You don’t have to be an SEO whizbang to benefit from SEOPressor, though newbies and advanced users alike will enjoy this plugin.

Bottom line is if you use WordPress very often, and you’re in internet marketing in any capacity, then SEOPressor is one plugin you need to have in your arsenal.

Get SEOPressor Here

29 Responses to SEOPressor Review & Conclusions
  1. Jonathan
    February 1, 2011 | 8:32 pm

    PS… According to SEOPressor this post scores out at 86.67%

    Not too shabby! :)

  2. Dave Ward
    February 2, 2011 | 7:18 am

    Have to agree with you on SEO Pressor, it does make the on page SEO work far easier. As you say,this is one premium plugin that is certainly worth it.

  3. Claudio
    February 13, 2011 | 7:21 pm

    Hi,
    i would like to buy the seopressor but i have two questions:
    1) is it usefull even for an italian blog, written in italian and aiming a good rank in the italian version of google?
    2) can i optimize my post/page with more than one keyword? at least .. first for “motorcycle” .. after get it done.. for “travel”… after that for “america”… and finally to the entire phrase “motorcycle travel in america”

    thanks!

  4. Jonathan
    February 14, 2011 | 8:51 am

    Hi Claudio,

    Yes, I believe it would be useful in Italian as well as in English, as it is more phrase dependent than language dependent, if you follow what I mean.

    Regarding your optimizing question – the way you have described is not optimization, because optimization by nature arranges all variables to benefit a single one… if you’re aiming in four different directions you’ll get nowhere fast. In addition, the first phrases you mentioned are such huge and broad phrases that you’re unlikely to rank on those. “motorcycle travel in america” though is a good target… but “motorcycle” would take a long time and a HUGE amount of backlinks. Hope that helps…

  5. Shree
    May 13, 2011 | 1:10 am

    I have achieved #1 position in google. my website placed 1st for the keyword ‘Software and Security Products’
    I use SEO pressor pugin for my each Article, I publish.

  6. piyush
    May 18, 2011 | 8:13 am

    hi,
    i wanted to ask that is this plugin effective in a site which has been designed with the help of dreamweaver or like self designed site and basically not word press…..

  7. Jonathan
    June 7, 2011 | 1:27 pm

    No, this plugin is specifically for WordPress.

  8. Mig Welder
    June 21, 2011 | 3:33 pm

    Thanks, I used SEO pressor today and started updating my blogs.

  9. Houses For Rent
    July 14, 2011 | 1:58 pm

    Hi there,

    We will be updating our website in the near future and plan to rebuild it using WordPress. We will give the SEOpresser plugin a try. We agree with the complaint’s that you point out (hopefully fixes for a future release), but SEOpresser still sounds like it is worth the money for what it does deliver.

  10. Mary
    July 15, 2011 | 6:20 pm

    Hi Jonathan, Great review! I’ve been using this plugin for about 6 months now. I wouldn’t write a blog without it. It is very easy to use. I have to admit I cannot complete all the items on the checklist. I find it is hard to use the keyword in all h1, h2 and h3 tags. The title counts a h1 tag in my wp theme but not in seopressor.

  11. Jonathan
    July 15, 2011 | 6:45 pm

    No, it doesn’t count as an H1 in the checklist, however SEOPressor does give you points for including it in the title of the post. I kinda wish it would make it one of the checklist items, or else count it as the H1 tag.

  12. Romall Smith
    July 31, 2011 | 12:18 pm

    very cool man, if i end up grabing SEOopressor ill use your like so you get credit :)

  13. Chrissy Morin
    August 5, 2011 | 4:43 am

    A comment about this plugin that was pulled into spam was actually left on my WordPress site and usually I just flush the spam but the particular one actually made sense when I read it and it led to the SEOPressor website. So of course that site thinks the plugin is fantastic but I wanted to see if anyone else had an opinion.. thanks for writing this..

  14. darius09ugger
    September 16, 2011 | 10:27 pm

    I just purcahed the SEOPressor 5 days ago. I was just wondering why can’t i add more keywords in it, i disabled my previous SEO plugin to focus on SEOPressor but it seems that only one keyword will make your post on top of google search. I really like the way it made my posts to number one in google because of my unique keyword but i just hoped i can add more. Thank you for this post.

  15. Alan
    September 17, 2011 | 2:35 pm

    Nice review. I’m considering buying it. It seems like the best choice is to buy the unlimited version. Is that what you did?

  16. M
    October 11, 2011 | 2:50 pm

    Hey Jonathan – Great Post!!!

    I was wondering, what other seo wordpress plugins would you use with SEO Pressor? I was looking at WordPress SEO by Yoast:

    http://wordpress.org/extend/plugins/wordpress-seo/screenshots/

    and it seemed to fill in a lot of the other stuff needed. Although there would be a bit of over-lapping. What are your thoughts? And would you use something like Goggle XML Sitemaps to round it off or would you even put more into the seo mix like pinging software?

    Thanks,

    M

  17. Mohamed Shajid
    October 12, 2011 | 7:40 am

    Mr.Jonathan I just Review this product and ijust Chose You ma Internet marketing friend. Such a Good postI never seen before in this internet Thanks Dude.. :D

  18. Addison wesely
    November 4, 2011 | 8:24 am

    I have not yet decided to try but I am already using all in one seo pack and it is doing for me what I want.

  19. Jonathan
    January 24, 2012 | 9:52 am

    WordPress SEO by Yoast is an excellent plugin, and I’m using that quite a bit as well on different sites… I don’t use them together though. I definitely recommend an XML Sitemap, and pinging is great too – all those things are separate parts of the problem that need to be addressed.

  20. Jonathan
    January 24, 2012 | 9:56 am

    Yeah…

  21. Aman
    February 10, 2012 | 12:32 am

    I want to try this…

  22. Paul
    February 15, 2012 | 7:24 am

    Just tripped over this article and I’m wondering if it is worth the money now that Google Panda is wandering around? I have not seen any mention of updates which is a concern and from my own experience it seems that the world of SEO might have moved on?

  23. sonu
    March 22, 2012 | 4:52 am

    i dont know anything about seopressor.
    I just wan ask one question, how much time it takes to give best results, if our scor is 85% – 90%.

  24. Jonathan
    March 28, 2012 | 12:05 pm

    Hi Sonu, keep in mind that SEOPressor will simply give you an indication of on-page optimization; it won’t guarantee you any particular rankings. To do that, there’s a lot more involved, starting with building links etc to your content.

  25. Jonathan
    March 28, 2012 | 12:10 pm

    Well, Panda has hit a number of things, and it’s true that now you apparently don’t want to “over-optimize” your site and pages (how did we ever get to the point where we have to now de-optimize things in order to rank better? Ugh, topic for a rant one day) however SEOPressor is still useful for writing content that is clear for search engines to figure out, in my opinion anyhow.

  26. Nic Coventry
    May 8, 2012 | 12:24 pm

    Wow, you’re the 2nd listing on Google for SEOPressor, next to SEOPressorDOTcom, so obviously it works, and you know what you’re doing. I’m going to buy it, definitely. I was confused on H1 & H2 Tags, but it sounds like with this, I don’t have to worry about that. Thanks for writing this great review!

    -Nic Coventry | Recovering Banker

  27. Jeremy Smith
    May 10, 2012 | 10:07 pm

    Found your blog at the number one positions, despite Google’s pandas and penguins! So I went ahead and purchased and am implementing now.

    Nic – to answer your question H1 and H2 are just Header 1 and Header 2…they are the fonts that you can choose from as you’re writing your post.

    Jon – Thanks for a very well put together and informative review. Your blog rocks and I will be sure to stay tuned!

    Jeremy

  28. Jonatan Alcivar M.
    May 20, 2012 | 8:22 am

    Hello,
    What I like about this tool is that you can optimize your articles before publishing them with a click and saves me time so I ..

    Greetings!

  29. Michele
    June 29, 2012 | 8:30 pm

    I love this plugin it saves me so nuch time and makes SEO so easy to do. SEOpressor is well worth the investment

Leave a Reply